Facebook Twitter

Cooper City

Someplace Special
Photo montage: butterfly, bicyclists on a trail, a father and daughter playing outside, and sunflowers



General Information

The Mayor and four City Commissioners are elected to four-year, staggered terms on a non-partisan basis with a consecutive term limit of three terms.
Cooper City holds municipal elections every two years and the Mayor and City Commission are elected at large, meaning that all voters may vote for the Mayor and/or any open Commission seat. 

The City is divided into four districts:  District 1, 2, 3, 4, as noted on the District Map  In order to qualify to run for an open Commission seat, a person must have resided continuously within the City and within the District in which he/she is running for at least six months preceding the date of filing. 

The Mayoral position is not restricted to a certain district; therefore, the candidate may reside in any area of the City.  In March 2007, Cooper City voters amended the City Charter to allow for municipal elections to be held in November of even years beginning with the November 2010 election cycle.

The next Cooper City Commission Election will be held:

November 6, 2018 for Commissioner District 1 and District 2.  

The City Clerk is the local supervisor of elections. Candidates for municipal office must file the appropriate forms with the City Clerk prior to opening a campaign account (forms may be picked up at the Clerk's Office at City Hall) and to qualify for office.   

Elections are conducted in accordance with the provisions of Title IX, Florida Statutes, Electors and Elections (Chapters 97-106). For further information, publications and forms, please visit the Florida Division of Elections Web site or call the City Clerk's office at (954) 434-4300.


Cooper City Voting Precincts

November 8, 2016 Municipal Election Information

November 4, 2014 Municipal Election Information

November 6, 2012 Municipal Election Information

Official website of Cooper City, Florida